This site uses Google Analytics
Officers of the Society


President Eur Ing Neil Jenkinson FMES, MIMechE

Joined the MES in 1978 as a Student Member, became a Fellow in 2013. Works for Parker Hanifin, on the Bretby Gammatech product range of Ash Monitoring Equipment.

President in 2016.

Elected Vice Presient in 2014

Responsible for the design and upkeep of the MES website.


Vice President Peter Skinner
Peter Skinner



Honorary Secretary Eur Ing Andrew W Howells HFMES, MIME, BTech
Andrew Howells

Chairman of South Wales Section 1985/87 & Secretary/Treasurer 1980/83
National President 1991/92 & 2007/08
Honorary Secretary 1992 to date
Honorary Treasurer 2006 to date
Elected Honorary Fellow in 2002

Policy & Finance Committee Chairman; Brian Everitt Hon FMES

A past President of the MES, Brian has been involved in coal mining and mineral processing since 1964 and has been an independent consultant in the industry since 2001 working in many countries around the world.

A member of the MES since 1974, he has held the Chairmanship of the Society's Policy and Finance Committee since 2001, with the Committee providing guidance on the Society's future direction and stewardship of its assets  

Symposia & Exhibitions Committee Chairman; Greg Kelley FMES
Greg Kelley

Joined the society in 1983 as a  Member becoming a Fellow in 2013.
Chairman of N. Group for two terms 2008/09 and 2009/10.
Vic President in 2009/10 becoming National President for two years 2010/12.
Greg retired as Managing Director of Norec Ltd in 2012. He has been Chairman of S&E committee since 2012.

Overseas Representative Eur Ing Douglas Jenkinson HFMES
Douglas Jenkinson

President 1972 - 73.
First Secretary Scottish Section 1959.
Former Chief Coal Preparation Engineer NCB
& Deputy Director, MRDE Bretby 1967 - 1987.